Waiting for Tom Hanks

Waiting for Tom Hanks

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
17
Romantic-comedy-obsessed Annie Cassidy spends her days writing internet content, rewatching Sleepless in Seattle, and waiting for her movie-perfect meet cute. If she could just find her own Tom Hanks, her problems would disappear and her life would be perfect. But Tom Hanks is nowhere in sight. When a movie starts filming in her neighbourhood and Annie gets a job on set, it seems like a sign. Then Annie meets the lead actor, Drew Danforth, a cocky prankster who couldn't be less like Tom Hanks if he tried. Drew may not be what she imagined, but Annie soon learns that real life doesn't always go according to script.
Publisher: New York : Jove, ©2019.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781984804020
Characteristics: viii, 274 pages ;,21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
koolsheena
May 18, 2020

Fast easy read.

Tigard_LindsayD Apr 14, 2020

Fluffy and chock-full of romcom movie references. Parts I found really funny, with great comedic beats. Fun for those looking for some easy escapism.

Hillsboro_JenniFerg Feb 10, 2020

I wanted to read something light and fun, and that is totally what I got from this book! I loved all the pop culture references and how it played just like a Tom Hanks/Meg Ryan movie in my head. Perfect for those who actually enjoy romantic comedies and are just looking for a fast and easy read.

VaughanPLDonnalee Jan 18, 2020

This was a cute, fun and very fluffy romantic comedy. I enjoyed it overall. Readers who like Sophie Kinsella's blend of humour and romance may like this. I liked all the references to old rom-com movies and I liked how it was blended into the book, but it did very repetitive after a while, so a few less references would have been better. It felt like Annie and her friend Chloe had the same conversation at least 30 times. I liked the characters, but the rom-com obsessed heroine was definitely walking a fine line between being "adorkable" and being just annoying and she crossed the line a few times. Overall it was was light and fun and pleasant and it was a fast and breezy read.

l
LeoLibros
Jan 05, 2020

I really wanted to like this. I am after all a fan of Tom Hanks and You've Got Mail IS one of my favorite movies. But I found myself skipping paragraphs when the character talked to herself about how she should feel, but felt something else. I also thought the Meta element, writing a book that is aware of the heroine (also a writer) and her love of Rom-Com plot devices, it was not as effective.
I would not read it again. I will not read the sequel and even though it's "light" I just didn't feel satisfied with how it played out.

JessicaGma Jan 03, 2020

It's fun and light, but not as sizzling as some of the other romcoms I read earlier in 2018 - I'm actually looking more towards the next couple in the sequel to this one. Here's hoping that we get stronger characters in the next book.

s
Suellen1111
Nov 18, 2019

Very thin on plot / story line. Repetitive -- the same thoughts go through her head over & over again. No guy says the things Drew says -- this author needs to re-think her guy-voice. The sex scenes were stilted. Overall, this book is boring & I gave up early.

VaughanPLShelly Nov 07, 2019

A sweet romance perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella!

w
WarriorofMartok
Aug 07, 2019

Sweet, fun story. Probably would be a fantastic read for those that like quick romance reads with closed doors, especially if the reader really enjoys 90's romcoms. A little improbable, but still lots of fun.
One thing that did bother me was the treatment of the geeky uncle and his D&D crew. They were played off as jokes and stereotypes, that as a D&D player myself, I found annoying. Had the uncle and his friends been made less cardboard, I would have given this book a much higher rating.

RandomLibrarian Jul 24, 2019

Review excerpt: "A cute but not too cute romantic comedy about a woman who longs to be in her own rom-com but can’t recognize it when it happens. It’s also a lovely meditation on loss and healing. This book might be too PG for some readers and too cute for others, but I enjoyed it because of its well developed romance, great friendships, respect for the rom-com genre, and treatment of grief."

https://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/reviews/waiting-for-tom-hanks-by-kerry-winfrey/

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top